Forestalling Talks

Standard

I thought I’d start a
conversation.
Present ideas, ask
for your input.
But you locked me out;
shuttered your mind;
built a wall between
your space and mine.
And so we leer at
one another.
We spy from behind
curtains – hidden.
The breath fogged glass acts
as our Kevlar –
protecting our hearts
from foreign sounds.
Why then should we talk?
when lips form words
that fall on muffled
ears, and ideas
– as distant from you
as you from I –
can never penetrate
our armor.

KMcGee – 2016

Included n the chapbook After the New Clear Dawn

Feel free to say something. I don't bite! Have a Question? I'll try to answer.

